New Recipes from the Holidays

 

 

 

florence-new-years-eve

I hope this post finds you all well and ready to start a brand new year in a few days.  A lot of changes have happened to me and to the lives of my family during the last part of 2014 and throughout 2015.  Like everyone around us we have dealt  with sadness, happiness, and changes.

For me, I spent most of 2015 recovering from a work related accident.  Because of that accident I not only had to change my career, but it opened my world up to so many new experiences.  The biggest was starting this blog sharing stories and recipes.  I have made lasting friendships from all over the world, and I am grateful for every one of them.

I am also grateful to you, the readers, of my blog for being interested in my thoughts and creations.   I hope you enjoy the following.

In the first recipe, I was trying to come up with something new for Thanksgiving.   I have a cast iron baking dish that has six shapes  representing fall and wanted to make pretty muffins for the holiday.  Well, needless to say, the recipe for the muffins came out better than the shapes.   The best thing about this recipe is it’s just not for Thanksgiving.  They also go great with soup, especially Chili.

Twisted Corn Bread muffins by Karen L Komarinski, cc

Ingredients          Yields 2 dozen medium muffins

1 cup of bread flour (my preference is King Arthur) 

1 cup Yellow Cornmeal

1 tablespoon Sugar

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper(optional you can leave out or add more)

1/4 cup chopped chives

1 1/2 cups of plain greek yogurt(make sure its the real deal, I used Chobani)

2 large eggs

3 tablespoons of melted butter

1/2 cup of smashed sweet potato

3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Mix together the mashed sweet potato, yogurt, eggs and melted butter. Mix together the rest of the ingredients and add the wet to the dry; and stir until everything is mixed together.  Place batter in muffin tins lined with papers, fill papers 3/4 of the way.  Place in preheated oven 425 F or 225 C and bake 20 minutes or until tooth pick comes out clean.

Serving suggestion: serve with butter and honey, or with your favorite soup or chili. Also can be used as your base for chicken and biscuits or sausage gravy.

This next recipe I tweaked and made it my own. Remember, be creative and use any flavored Oreo cookie:

Oreo cookie Bon Bons :       Yield   52 1″inch balls

1 packed of Oreo cookies crushed fine,  Note I used a ziplock bag and a rolling pin, you may use a food processor.

8 oz of soften cream cheese

1/8 teaspoon of your favorite flavoring: Vanilla, Rum, whiskey, coffee, or nothing at all

1 pound of good melting chocolate:  You can use Dark, Milk,  White Chocolate (which really is not chocolate..lol), Butterscotch or Peanut Butter chips.  Note: if you are afraid of tempering, you can buy very good melting disks on line or at any baking supply store online. Just make sure it is high quality; just like wine if you would not drink it don’t cook with it.

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, using a 1 inch or larger scoop to form your balls, place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and chill at least 3 hours or overnight before covering in chocolate.

Melt your chocolate over a double boiler,  place your bon bon on a slotted spoon and dip into the chocolate covering the whole cookie, let excess chocolate drip of and either place it in a decorative paper or on the parchment lined cookie sheet.  Once chocolate is set, place in a air tight container and store in a cool dry place.  The also freeze  very well.  These simple tasty treats will dress up any cookie or desert tray, and make a great gift.

 

IMG_1470

 

 

One thought on “New Recipes from the Holidays

  1. I just wanted to say that I had the opportunity to try Karen’s Oreo Cookie Bon Bons . They are creamy and decadent. It is hard to stop at one. I recommend this recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

