A 5 year old girl asked her brother, Where does Chocolate Milk come from?

lindys-stainless-steel-pail-polished-multiple-sizes-small_2 images

When I was 5 years old, I followed my brother Matt around like a puppy dog. I always wanted to help him especially with feeding and milking the cows.  He was very patient for I know my help really slowed him down. If it was a school morning, my mom would tell me to go back to bed.  I could help him and Mike “another brother” with the animals at night so I would not make them late for school. Usually I would fall asleep at the kitchen table while drinking my tea and toast waiting for them to come back from the barn.    I would help at night putting hay or  grain  into the trough for the cows to eat, and would sit on the steps leading up to the hay loft waiting for them to get done milking.   We would carry the milk buckets back down to the house. The milk had to be put through a filter then funneled into sterile glass jugs, and refrigerated.  Then all the buckets and other equipment had to be washed and sterilized. It would be at this time I would ask my wise brother Matt, where does Chocolate milk come from?

imagesHis answer to me was  you have to feed the cows cocoa.  So for the next two nights I picked one of the milk cows that I wanted to make Chocolate Milk and we mixed Cocoa Powder into its grain. On the third night, as promised, Matt  showed me the small pail of milk, and it was chocolate.  I came down from the barn so excited telling my mom that the cow gave us chocolate milk  and could I please try some.  I already knew the answer had to be no because I was very allergic to milk,  but I was still happy that Laura the milk cow gave us chocolate milk.  The next day my mom along with Matt explained to me that it was a trick, and that chocolate milk does not come from feeding cows coca.  This story is still told today along with the time I sang Frosty the Snowman and painted my brother Mike white, but that story is for another time.

IMG_0680pictures of Me and Matt 1971

Below I have included a recipe for Texas Sheet Cake. This is Matt’s favorite dessert.  This cake is very special to my mom also because Mrs. Robinett shared this recipe with her. She was  one of our new neighbors when we moved to Maryland for my dad’s job.   My mom had 5 little ones and didn’t know anyone and Mrs. Robinett made us feel welcome.  She was a life long friend even after moving back to the farm in PA.

Texas Sheet Cake : Bake at 400 F or 200 C for 20 minutes in a Jelly Roll pan 1 1/2 inch deep greased and floured

ingredients & Procedure

Bring to a Boil 

  1. 2 sticks unsalted butter
  2. 1 cup of water
  3. 4 Heaping Tablespoons Cocoa (original recipe call for Nestles Sweet Milk Cocoa) 
  4. Remove from heat and place in mixing bowl and add the following
  5. 2 cups Bread Flour ( All purpose flour will work)
  6. 2 cups sugar
  7. 1/2 Teaspoon salt
  8. 1 Teaspoon baking soda
  9. 2 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  10. 2 Eggs (room temperature)
  11. 1/2 Sour Cream ( you can also use 1/2 cup of buttermilk if you prefer)

Mix in all your dry ingredients on low-speed once incorporated increase speed to medium and add your eggs and sour cream and mix 2 minutes.  Pour your batter into your prepared Jelly Roll Pan and Bake for 20 minutes, give it the toothpick test. cool cake completely and top with Fudge Icing.

Icing:

ingredients:

  1. 1 stick of butter
  2. 6 Tablespoons  Milk
  3. 4 Tablespoons Cocoa
  4. 1 Cup Chopped pecans or walnuts ( This is optional)
  5. 1-pound box of powder sugar

Procedure:

In a medium size sauce pan on low heat melt your butter, then stir in the remaining ingredients. Cook on heat until everything is incorporated and smooth. Immediately pour over your cake.  Let set about an hour. Cut, Serve and Enjoy!  *Note if you can find sweet milk cocoa please let me know, it makes a lighter chocolate cake.*

IMG_0952

One thought on “A 5 year old girl asked her brother, Where does Chocolate Milk come from?

Leave a Reply

