The year I made Grandma Baker’s Chocolate Marshmallow Cookie

197440

When we got older my grandparents would sometimes go to Florida right after Christmas, my grandpap Baker  was a very talented self-employed carpenter by trade and during the winter months work was slow so they would save up and visit friends in the Florida Keys, and return around March.keysmap

Before I continue this story, I have to mention my grandpap was also a fine musician, he was part of a country western band and the members would also go to Florida, and they would entertain everyone at the park that they were staying.instrs2

So at that time my grandma would not do a whole lot of baking before they left,  so i decided that I was going to attempt to make my grandma Bakers Chocolate Marshmallow cookies, and send some with them, for they were my grandpa’s favorite cookie too.        I did my best and made the cookies and fixed a tin for my grandparents to take with them to Florida.  They were over for Christmas Eve  dinner and my mom set out platters of cookies and homemade candies out for dessert,  as grandpap took a chocolate marshmallow cookie and popped it into his mouth someone said I bet it’s not as good as grandmas…..he smiled and laughed and said hah they taste pretty  dam good to me…and the whole room cracked up.  ( you have to understand my grandpap was a man of few words with a witty dry sense of humor)  I miss them both very much.   After that christmas he looked forward to my cookies.

Grandma Baker’s Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies (Preheat Oven to 375 F or 190 C)

ingredients

  1. 1 3/4 sifted Cake Flour
  2. 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  3. 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  4. 1/2 cup Cocoa
  5. 1/2 cup of Shortening (you can use 1/2 cup of soften butter if you choose)
  6. 1 cup Sugar
  7. 1 Egg ( room temperature)
  8. 1/2 cup of buttermilk
  9. 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  10. 36 big Marshmallows (cut 18 whole Marshmallows in half)
  11. 36 toasted Pecan or walnut halves (Optional)

Procedure:

Add salt, Baking Soda, Cocoa to your measured Cake Flour and measure again and set aside. Next Cream shortening and sugar together until light and fluffy, then add your egg and mix well.  Now incorperate you Flour mixture alternating with your buttermilk and Vanilla, mix well.  Drop by the teaspoon 2” apart on a either a greased or parchment lined cookie sheet, Bake for about 8 minutes remove from oven and quickly top with the marshmallow (cut side down) Return to oven and bake and additional 2 minutes, until Marshmallow is softens. Cool completely  and Frost with a Coca Frosting and top frosted cookie with the Pecan or Walnut half. (Remember the Nuts are Optional)

Cocoa Frosting

ingredients

  1. 2 cups Powder Sugar
  2. 5 Tablespoons Cocoa
  3. 1/8 teaspoon Salt ( the recipe says dash…lol)
  4. 3 Tablespoons Melted unsalted butter (note if you use salted butter just omit the 1/8 tsp of salt)
  5. 4 Tablespoons of Light Cream

Procedure:

Sift together all dry ingredients then add your melted butter and cream.  Then Ice your cookies

Note: if the frosting  seem to thick to spread add a little more cream  1/2 teaspoon at a time, and if its too thin add more powder sugar about 1 Tablespoon at a time.

Hope this becomes one of your favorite cookies too 😉

Enjoy  KK

Leave a Reply

