My First Wedding Cake….made with love… Plus one more

Scan Levi’s wedding Cake 10/2003

This story begins long before this wedding ever took place.   It was spring time and my nephew Levi was at baseball tryout and he was so excited, so I decided to surprise him with a cake. I made a Red Devils Food cake and decorated the top like a baseball and wrote “We are proud of you Levi”.  Levi did make the team, but you thought I gave him a million dollars when he saw that cake on the kitchen table.  I loved to bake and I would involve my nieces and nephews when making cookies and cakes, I would make sure I would involve them as much as I could when I would be babysitting them.   I have a lot of great memories cooking with them all.

* I had made sheet cakes for different occasions but a wedding cake never crossed my mind.*

DSCN0272 DSCN0351 IMG_0010

Years later Levi and his fiancée asked me not only to make the wedding cake but asked me to sing at the ceremony.  Levi had one more request, that I would make it a Red Devils Food cake.  I looked at them both and said it would be an honor but wanted make sure this is what they wanted for I never made a wedding cake before, Levi smiled and say yes, It will be wonderful Aunt Karinski.  The Cake had a fudge filling covered with butter cream and then Fondant and finished decorating it per the Brides request.Scan 1Scan 3

Three years Later I made my first non-family wedding cake. My niece Barbara told her high School Science Teacher that she just had to have me make her cake and I did.  The funny story attached to this cake is they had a wedding for over 500 people and they wanted a wedding cake for the cutting of the cake so they ordered what was considered a small cake from me and then the Grooms brother was the head baker at Giant Eagle a local grocery store and he was going to make plain sheet cakes to serve the guest.  They loved the cake took pictures and then the caterers at the hall to it to the kitchen…They never served my cake only the sheet cakes and no one knew this until the next day when the extra food was delivered  to her parents house for the opening of gifts. Family and friends very much enjoyed this cake the next day!

Scan1
White almond flavored cake 11/26/2005

I’m sure by now you are asking yourselves what exactly is a Red Devils Food Cake.  It is very western Pennsylvania, my oldest sister found this out when she attended University of Dayton and went to the store and asked for a Red Devils Food Cake, and no one knew what she was taking about…lol  People confuse it with Red Velvet Cake.   Red Devils food has more cocoa and less food coloring.

Red Devils Food Cake Bake @ 350 F or 180 C 

Pan sizes one 13”x9” or two 8” rounds or tw0 9”  rounds,  24 cup cakes

Ingredients

  1. 2 cups of sifted cake flour
  2. 1/3 cup of Cocoa ( You can use either light or dark)
  3. 3/4 teaspoon of salt
  4. 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  5. 1/2 cup of soften Butter (You can also use Shortening)
  6. 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  7. 2 large Eggs (room temperature)
  8. 2 teaspoons of Red Food Coloring (this and the amount is optional) see notes at the end.
  9. 1 Tablespoon of Vinegar
  10. 1 cup of ButterMilk

Procedure

Preheat oven (350F or 180 C) prepare your baking pans (I cut out parchment paper the to fit the bottom of the pans and then lightly spray it and the sides with bakers joy)  Sift together flour, Cocoa, salt, and baking soda. Cream together butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Mix your vinegar and buttermilk together. Slowly combine your dry ingredients to the creamed mixture alternating with the buttermilk. Mix until well blended about 2 minutes…Do Not Over Mix  Pour batter into prepared pans and bake 30 to 40 minutes.  I always start checking at 30 minutes, and then set my timer for 5 minute  increments.  When cake seems set ( toothpick comes out clean) remove from oven cool completely. Ice with your favorite Icing. Buttercream  or Cream Cheese  and enjoy 🙂

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  1. 3 1/2 cups of powder sugar
  2. 1 8oz package of cream cheese (Softened)
  3. 2 Tablespoons of unsalted butter (Softened)
  4. 2 teaspoons of vanilla

Procedure

Place all ingredients in small mixing bowl start out at low-speed once combined increase speed to medium and mix until fluffy and smooth.  This recipe doubles easily.

Notes: If you do not want to use red food coloring in your cake that is fine.  There is a chemical reaction that happens between the cocoa powder and vinegar that gives the cake a reddish color. I sometimes add the small amount to make it more noticeable. This is a total preference call.  Also if find that you do not have buttermilk you can do one of two things…1 you can substitute Sour Cream or you can take one cup of milk and add either  1 Tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar set it aside, your milk will curdle and you have buttermilk.  Last tip if you are making a layer cake, you can leave your cakes cool completely in the pans before turning them out.

Enjoy! 🙂  Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question with the recipe’s

Thank you, KK

Leave a Reply

